1/10/2019 4:23:56 PM (GMT+3)

Aashrun, Lydia win men’s and women’s titles

Aashrun, Lydia win men’s and women’s titles

MAPUSA, Goa: Aashrun Gautam won the men’s singles finals of All Goa Major Ranking Badminton Tournament here on Thursday.

Mixing fierce and accurate smashes with delicate drops, Aashrun beat Parteek Mahajan 21-10, 21-11 in fast-paced game.

Lydia Barreto, who has been in fine form this season, edged out Pranjal Chimulkar 21-11, 11-21, 21-19 in an extremely hard-fought women’s final which witnessed an engaging battle highlighted with lengthy rallies.

Lydia later teamed up with Yasmin Sayed to register a 21-16, 21-19 win over Anushka Kuvelkar/Pranjal Chimulkar in the doubles final.

Karan Dhavaskar, who hails from Sanquelim, had plenty of reasons to smile as he went on to win the mixed doubles partnering Anushaka.

For Anushka, it was her third mixed doubles title to make a clean sweep.

In men’s doubles, top seeds Tejan Fallary and Sunny Sawant justified their top billing with a confident 21-15, 21-10 win over second seeds Floyd Araujo and Fredrick Fernandes.

Gurudas Kadam, Paresh Kamat, Sanjay Bhobe, and Goa Badminton Association officials Narahar Thakur, Sandeep Heble, Sudin Kuvelkar and Roy Ataide (Referee) graced the closing ceremony.