12/2/2018 5:02:23 PM (GMT+3)

Germany, Netherlands will meet in Euro 2020 qualifiers

Germany, Netherlands will meet in Euro 2020 qualifiers

NEW DELHI: Germany and the Netherlands will meet each in qualifying for Euro 2020 after being paired together in Sunday’s draw in Dublin, Ireland.

The Germans were the most dangerous team outside the first pot of seeds for the competition, relegated due to poor recent results which included losing to the Dutch in the Nations League.

The teams were split into seven pots: the UEFA Nations League pot, consisting of the four teams set to compete in next year's Finals, as well as Pots 1 to 6. The four countries in the UEFA Nations League pot – Switzerland, Portugal, Netherlands and England – were drawn into the first position in Groups A to D to ensure they each have two dates free for the Finals in June.

The pots were determined by the overall UEFA Nations League rankings issued on 21 November.

The six teams in Pot 1 were drawn into the first position in Groups E to J. The ten teams in Pot 2 were drawn into second positions in the ten groups, with the draw continuing in similar style for Pots 3, 4 and 5 to fill positions 3, 4 and 5 respectively. The teams in Pot 6 were then drawn into the sixth position in the six-team Groups F to J.

Arguably the toughest group is Group F in which Sweden, Norway and Romania will likely compete for one berth behind Spain.

The qualifiers will begin in March, with the final round of games in November 2019. (Source: UEFA)


Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo
Group B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
Group C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus
Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar,
Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan 
Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania,  Faroe Islands, Malta
Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, FYR Macedonia, Latvia
Group H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra
Group I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino
Group J: Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein