3/22/2019 6:01:35 PM (GMT+3)

Indian women win fifth successive SAFF title

Indian women win fifth successive SAFF title

NEW DELHI: Defending champions India beat Nepal 3-1 in the final to retain the SAFF Women’s Championship in Biratnagar, Nepal, on Friday.

Dalima Chhibber (26’), Grace Dangmei (63’) and substitute Anju Tamang (78’) scored for India at the Sahid Rangashala Stadium.

This was India’s fifth straight title, and the win also extended their unbeaten run in the tournament history to 23 games.

Dangmei got a couple of early chances while Nepal also made some half-hearted attempts with Manjali Kumar testing goalkeeper Aditi Chauhan in the 14th minute.

Chhibber, who opened the scoring against Bangladesh in the semis, earned the lead for India when she smashed the ball the past the keeper from a free-kick from 30 yards.

India increased the lead in the 63rd minute when Dangmei rounded off the goalkeeper and slotted the ball home.

Coach Maymol Rocky introduced Anju Tamang in place of Sandhiya midway through the second half. The change paid dividends after the former volleyed home following a first-time assist from Indumathi Kathiresan.