3/7/2018 11:31:19 PM (GMT+3)

Thursday Madness: Minerva is favourites, but Bagan can also become champion

Thursday Madness: Minerva is favourites, but Bagan can also become champion

CALCUTTA, India: All eyes would be on the last day’s I-League matches on Thursday as the top-four have chances to win the title.

Runaway leaders Minerva Punjab host struggling Churchill Brothers while second-placed Neroca face East Bengal away. Mohun Bagan, who are third, take on Gokulam Kerala away.

If all the teams end up with 33 points, Mohun Bagan will reclaim the I-League title courtesy of their record against the other two teams.

The cumulative points will be considered for each team against the other.

Bagan will take home the trophy with seven points (two wins over East Bengal and a draw against Minerva). Minerva will be on five points (win and draw against Bagan, and a draw against East Bengal). East Bengal has four points (win and draw against Minerva).

All the three matches will be played simultaneously at 3PM IST.

www.khelupdates.com presents the permutations and calculations for each teams.

Minerva Punjab (32 Points): The title is still in their hands, but the table-toppers need an outright win against Churchill for the title irrespective of other results.

A loss or draw could still see them through if others falter.

Neroca Fc (31 Points): The debutant North-East side have to beat East Bengal away to stand a chance of winning the title. But they will also have to hope that Minerva don’t win against Churchill. A draw will not help their case even if Mohun Bagan and Minerva Punjab lose their games. Minerva won both their encounters against Neroca, who will clinch the title even if they end up with a draw.

Mohun Bagan (30 points): The Mariners face Gokulam Kerala. A win is important for them as that would help them win with 33 points, provided Minerva lose their game and Neroca end up with a loss or draw.

East Bengal (30 points): The red and gold brigade can win only if they beat Neroca. However, they can clinch the crown only if both Bagan and Minerva Punjab fail to register wins.