12/25/2018 11:20:38 PM (GMT+3)

UAE name squad for AFC Asian Cup

UAE name squad for AFC Asian Cup

ABU DHABI: 2015 AFC Player of the Year Ahmed Khalil and Ali Makbhout will be leading the charge for hosts United Arab Emirates at the AFC Asian Cup, who announced their 23-man squad.

But the squad, named by head coach Alberto Zaccheroni, will be missing the talismanic Omar Abdulrahman who was ruled out earlier after suffering a season-ending knee injury in October.

Al Ain, fresh from their runners-up finish in the FIFA Club World Cup, have seven players in the squad.

Al Jazira are well represented as well with Zaccheroni selecting five players.

UAE open their Group A campaign against Bahrain on January 5. They play India five days later and Thailand on January 14.

UAE will be looking to better their finish from the last time they hosted the AFC Asian Cup in 1995, when they finished runners-up. (Source: the-afc.com)

Squad: Khalid Essa, Bandar Al Ahbabi, Mohamed Ahmed, Ismail Ahmed, Amer Abdulrahman, Rayan Yaslam, Mohamed Abdulrahman (Al Ain); Ali Khaseif, Khalifa Al Hammadi, Fares Juma, Khalfan Mubarak, Ali Mabkhout (Al Jazira); Khalifa Mubarak, Mahmoud Khamis (Al Nasr); Walid Abbas, Majed Hassan, Ismail Al Hammadi, Ahmed Khalil (Shabab Al Ahli Dubai Club); Saif Rashid (Sharjah); Mohamed Al Shamsi, Ismail Matar (Al Wahda); Ali Salmeen, Khamis Esmail (Al Wasl).